Yummy Fall Treats

Just thought I’d come on here and share a few favorite fall recipes that I’ve been loving the last few weeks. If you didn’t already know, I’ve been eating Gluten-Free for about seven years due to gastrointestinal issues that I had been dealing with for several years prior, but I’ll spare you all the details. So, all of my recipes will obviously be Gluten-Free but can be easily tailored to fit your family’s needs! Also, I hardly ever measure anything when I cook, I just eyeball it, or tweak it as I see fit, so all of these measurements are just a ballpark guideline.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_9642

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil (or cooking oil of your choice)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 cups flour (I used GF all-purpose flour)
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice (I used a combo)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar, oil, vanilla, and egg.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.
  4. Dissolve the baking soda with milk and stir into the wet ingredients.
  5. Add dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix well.
  6. Add in chocolate chips and stir.
  7. Drop spoonfuls of dough approximately 2 inches apart onto parchment paper.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

 

Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

  • 6 peeled apples, sliced or diced, however you prefer
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup uncooked old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup flour (I used GF all-purpose flour)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • Optional: vanilla ice cream (a must in my book), or caramel sauce

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees, lightly grease 8×8 or 9×9 pan with olive oil spray.
  2. Line bottom of pan with peeled/sliced apples.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, oats, and cinnamon.
  4. Add in vanilla, cut in softened butter, and mix well with fork until clumpy.
    • Side note: I actually doubled the “crisp” ingredients because that’s my favorite part, and I thought the ratio was perfect, but if you aren’t an extra “crisp” kind of person, keep them as listed.
  5. Sprinkle mixture over the apples.
  6. Drizzle with caramel sauce if you wish.
  7. Bake 30-35 minutes, until top is browned.
  8. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.
  9. Prepare to binge eat until gone.

*** Sadly, I didn’t get a photo of the Apple Crisp because I was not patient enough to do so before digging in.***

 

Pumpkin Spice Energy Balls

IMG_9621

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate)
  • 1 cup roughly chopped nuts of your choice (I used almonds, and sunflower seeds)
  • 3 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I used a little extra because I’m obsessed with all things pumpkin!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp of raw agave, or maple syrup
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Mix oats, chia seeds, chocolate chips, nuts/seeds, pumpkin pie spice, and salt in a medium bowl.
  2. Add in vanilla extract, agave/maple syrup, and pureed pumpkin. Mix well.
  3. Roll into bite sized balls, and refrigerate over night to let the chia seeds absorb the moisture. This is one of those things that in my opinion, gets yummier the longer they sit (day 2, 3 etc), due to the chia seeds.

 

Be sure to let me know what you think, or if you have any fall favorites to share! Enjoy! 🙂

xo, Amy

Author: Life Among Wildflowers

A New England based motherhood and lifestyle blog.

Leave a comment